The IBEC is an international institution established and operating in conformity with an intergovernmental Agreement concerning the organization and activities of the IBEC and its Statutes. The above Agreement was registered with the UN Secretariat on August 20, 1964

The Banks's member countries are:

  • the Republic of Bulgaria;
  • the Socialist Republic of Vietnam;
  • Mongolia;
  • the Republic of Poland;
  • the Russian Federation;
  • Romania;
  • the Slovak Republic;
  • the Czech Republic.